Teee It’s Finally Open!

The long-awaited Adriano Zumbo Chocolate Cafe has opened, at long last, after a few weeks of visiting every weekend (to the point that the staff at the patissierie now know us by face and order~). And so what better way to welcome it than have a foodbloggers meet!

We met Susan from chocolatesuze, Lorraine from notquitenigella, Belle and William from Ooh Look…, and Richard from Here Comes the Food! It’s amazing~ throw me into a room with people distantly related to me in some vague way, and I’ll shut up and become engrossed in my food. Throw me into a room of (relative) strangers (if you don’t count stalking their blogs) who will all whip out a camera as the waitress approaches, and I’m at home!

Moments of hilarity, and very awesome desserts followed…

 

Our Iced Milk Chocolate~ It was very chocolatey and very good…although the way Susan was hugging her mug of hot chocolate happily to herself, I think that’s got to be tried next time.

The Younger Years – Hot Chocolate Fondant w Peanut Butter Icecream & Raspberry Injection

Lorraine and Richard both had one of these. It was amusing to see everyone whip out a camera when the waitress approached – I think we must have startled her, because she backed away a little and asked if we wanted to do the injecting (literally!) ourselves! It was very rich, and very cool, an interesting combination of flavours.

Miss Marple Deconstructed – Mascarpone Crepes w Maple & Strawberry & Orange Jellies

Mmmmm ours…. This was good. Really good. The hair in Belle and William’s barely fazed anyone, it was that good. The jellies were half frozen, which was really refreshing, and the maple caramelised and made toffee on the plate. I find myself craving another one now…Another visit is so called for. 

It’s Not a Hamburger – chocolate macaron sandwich w dolce latte gelato, rice pudding & chocolate soil

We didn’t get to try this one, but it does look very yummy. The others were engaged in a discussion of “is there banoffee in there?” (Tim looked slightly confused, i think), while the rice pudding was only tasted by Suze – elusive, to be sure.

We couldn’t resist bringing home a selection of these lovelies… There were comments about one called “Cameltoe” (red wine centered chocolate) ~ Not sure I got the reference, but Tim was covering my ears in an attempt to ‘protect’ my ‘innocence’, so it’s probably not work-safe/parent-safe to google!

 The Selection – a Fried Egg! (white chocolate, rice crispies, and passionfruit centre, with pepper (!!) I think?), Salted Caramel, Vanilla Caramel and Mint. The Salted Caramel was awesome, I could live on these (I get carbs, a few minerals, some antioxidants, and calcium? Not bad 😉 )

Well, I should get back to dragging the chain, but I’ll have these yummy chocolates to keep for when I just need a break, right?

A post on the Good Food Month’s Food and Wine Festival will emerge next time I can slip the study leash. In the mean time, how I survive exams follows.

The Exam Survival Toolbox:

Adriano Zumbo Macarons

Max Brenner Chocolates

Dulce de Leche Syrup and Vanilla Icecream

 

 

